Nederlander Theatre, (7/16/2015 - 10/25/2015)

First Preview: Jun 25, 2015
Opening Date: Jul 16, 2015
Closing Date: Oct 25, 2015
Total Previews: 24
Total Performances: 116

Category: Musical, Original, Broadway

Opening Night Production Staff

Theatre Owned / Operated by The Nederlander Organization (James M. Nederlander: Chairman; James L. Nederlander: President)

Produced by Carolyn Rossi Copeland, Alexander Rankin and AG Funding LLC

Originally produced by Goodspeed Musicals (Michael P. Price, Executive Producer)

Book by Christopher Smith and Arthur Giron; Music by Christopher Smith; Lyrics by Christopher Smith; Orchestrations by Kenny Seymour; Music Direction by Joseph Church; Arrangements by Joseph Church; Incidental music by Joseph Church; Additional material by Karen Burgman, Dr. Joseph Ohrt, Alana K. Smith and Dr. Sarah Gulish; Percussion Arrangements: Grant Braddock

Directed by Gabriel Barre; Choreographed by Christopher Gattelli; Associate Director: Kim Weild; Associate Choreographer: Shanna VanDerwerker

Scenic Design by Eugene Lee and Edward Pierce; Costume Design by Toni-Leslie James; Lighting Design by Ken Billington and Paul Miller; Sound Design by Jon Weston; Hair Design by Robert-Charles Vallance; Makeup Design by Robert-Charles Vallance; Associate Scenic Design: Nick Francone; Associate Costume Design: Nicky Tobolski; Associate Lighting Design: Michael P. Jones; Associate Sound Design: Josh Millican

General Manager: Marshall B. Purdy; Company Manager: Chris Aniello and Robert E. Schneider

Production Management: Aurora Productions; Production Stage Manager: Paul J. Smith; Stage Manager: Beverly Jenkins

Musical Coordinator: Michael Keller; Associate Musical Coord: Michael Aarons; Conducted by Joseph Church; Associate Conductor: Julie McBride; Keyboards: Julie McBride, Dan Pardo and Joseph Church; Percussion: Grant Braddock; French Horn: Shelagh Abate; Trumpet: Tony Kadleck; Trombone: Tim Albright; Flutes: Anders Bostrom; Reeds: Aaron Heick; Violin/Concertmaster: Tomoko Akaboshi; Violin/Viola: Susan Aquila; Cello: Amy Ralske; Bass: Bill Sloat; Music Preparation: Steven M. Alper, Roy Williams, Chris Deschene, Leland Bond, Tony Finno, Colleen Dietz, Peter Foley and Ed Cionek; Keyboard Programmers: Randy Cohen and Taylor Williams

Special Effects Designer: Jeremy Chernick

Fight & Military Movement: David Leong; Dialect Coach: Gillian Lane-Plescia; Community Engagement: Marcia Pendelton and WTG Productions; Casting: McCorkle Casting, Ltd.; Dance Captain: Oneika Phillips; Fight Captain: Vince Oddo; Flying Supervisor: Tim Mackay; Advertising: SPOTCo, Inc.; Marketing & Social Media: The Pekoe Group; Website: The Pekoe Group; Press Representative: Boneau / Bryan-Brown; Photographer: Joan Marcus

[See More]

Opening Night Cast

Erin MackeyMary Catlett
Josh YoungJohn Newton
Stanley BahorekRobert Haweis
Chuck CooperPakuteh (Thomas)
Rachael Ferrera
Broadway debut
Harriett D. FoyPrincess Peyai
Tom HewittCaptain Newton
Chris HochMajor Gray
Laiona Michelle
Broadway debut
Elizabeth Ward LandMrs. Catlett
Leslie BeckerEnsemble
Sara Brophy
Broadway debut
Rheaume Crenshaw
Broadway debut
Miguel Edson
Broadway debut
Mike EvaristeMr. Tyler
Sean EwingEnsemble
Savannah FrazierSophie
Christopher GurrBillingsley
Monsieur Clow
Allen Kendall
Broadway debut
Mr. Whitley
Michael Dean MorganMr. Einhorn
Prince Frederick
Vince OddoMr. Quigley
Oneika PhillipsEnsemble
Clifton SamuelsEnsemble
Gavriel Savit
Broadway debut
Dan SharkeyEnsemble
Evan Alexander Smith
Broadway debut
Uyoata Udi
Broadway debut
Charles E. WallaceEnsemble
Toni Elizabeth White
Broadway debut

Swings: Bret Shuford and Hollie E. Wright

Understudies: Leslie Becker (Mrs. Catlett), Sara Brophy (Sophie), Rheaume Crenshaw (Nanna), Mike Evariste (Mr. Quigley), Sean Ewing (Mr. Quigley), Savannah Frazier (Mary Catlett), Christopher Gurr (Captain Newton, Mr. Whitley, Prince Frederick), Michael Dean Morgan (Billingsley, Major Gray, Monsieur Clow), Vince Oddo (John Newton), Oneika Phillips (Princess Peyai), Clifton Samuels (Mr. Einhorn), Dan Sharkey (Briggs), Bret Shuford (John Newton), Evan Alexander Smith (Robert Haweis), Uyoata Udi (Mr. Tyler), Charles E. Wallace (Pakuteh (Thomas)), Toni Elizabeth White (Yema) and Hollie E. Wright (Tennah)


music by Christopher Smith; lyrics by Christopher Smith

ACT 1 Sung By
Truly AliveJohn Newton and Captain Newton
The AuctionJohn Newton
Someone Who HearsMary Catlett and John Newton
Yema's SongYema, Nanna and Ensemble
Voices of the AngelsMary Catlett
Rule BritanniaMary Catlett and Company
We Are DeterminedMr. Tyler, Mr. Einhorn, Mr. Quigley and Company
Each and Every LifeThomas
No NegotiationBriggs and Sailors
NeverJohn Newton
Shadows of InnocenceJohn Newton, Mary Catlett and Ensemble
ExpectationsMajor Gray
ACT 2 Sung By
Welcome SongPrincess Peyai and Ensemble
Sing on HighThe Company
Tell Me WhyMary Catlett
Yema's Song (Reprise) Yema
A Chance for MeCaptain Newton
Nowhere Left to RunThomas
I Still BelieveMary Catlett
TestimonyJohn Newton
I Will RememberJohn Newton
Rule Britannia (Reprise) Mary Catlett
Nothing There to LoveJohn Newton and Mary Catlett
Amazing GraceCompany

Replacement/Transfer Info

The following people are credited as replacements or additions if they were not credited on opening night.

Nederlander Theatre

(7/16/2015 - 10/25/2015)
Associate Conductor: Brian Hertz(Sep 28, 2015 - Oct 25, 2015); Keyboard 1/Percussion: Brian Hertz(Sep 28, 2015 - Oct 25, 2015); Conducted by Aaron Jodoin(Sep 28, 2015 - Oct 25, 2015); Keyboard 3: Aaron Jodoin(Sep 28, 2015 - Oct 25, 2015).

Understudies: Michael Brian Dunn (Prince Frederick), Bret Shuford (Mr. Quigley, Mr. Whitley, Prince Frederick, Monsieur Clow, Mr. Einhorn, Billingsley, Briggs).

View full site