Richard Rodgers Theatre, (10/22/1998 - 7/02/2000)

First Preview: Oct 05, 1998
Opening Date: Oct 22, 1998
Closing Date: Jul 02, 2000
Total Previews: 18
Total Performances: 709

Category: Musical, Original, Broadway
Setting: Somewhere in the heartland of America in the recent past.

Opening Night Production Staff

Theatre Owned / Operated by The Nederlander Organization (James M. Nederlander: Chairman Emeritus; James L. Nederlander: Chairman; Robert E. Nederlander: President)

Produced by Dodger Endemol Theatricals; Produced in association with Radio City Entertainment; Associate Producer: The John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts

Stage adaptation by Dean Pitchford and Walter Bobbie; Based on the Original Screenplay by Dean Pitchford; Music by Tom Snow; Lyrics by Dean Pitchford; Including Songs by Eric Carmen, Sammy Hagar, Kenny Loggins and Jim Steinman; Additional lyrics by Kenny Loggins; Music orchestrated by Danny Troob; Vocal arrangements by Doug Katsaros; Dance arrangements by Joe Baker

Directed by Walter Bobbie; Choreographed by A.C. Ciulla

Scenic Design by John Lee Beatty; Costume Design by Toni-Leslie James; Lighting Design by Ken Billington; Sound Design by Tony Meola; Hair Design by Ross Ringo; Associate Lighting Design: Brian Monahan

Executive Producer: Dodger Management Group (Sally Campbell Morse, Robert C. Strickstein) and Tim Hawkins; Company Manager: Sandra Carlson

Production Stage Manager: Steven Beckler; Production Supervisor: Steven Beckler; Technical Supervisor: Peter Fulbright, Tech Production Services, Inc., Elliot Bertoni and Kimberly Parker; Stage Manager: Dale Kaufman

Musical Supervisor: Doug Katsaros; Musical Coordinator: John Miller; Conducted by Doug Katsaros; Associate Conductor: Joseph Baker; Guitar: John Benthal and Bob Rose; Drums: Clint de Ganon; Bass: Vince Fay; Keyboard: Doug Katsaros and Joseph Baker; Reeds: Tim Ries; Violin: Kenny Kosek; Cello: Stephanie Cummins; Percussion: Mark Sherman

Casting: Hughes / Moss Casting; Marketing Consultant: Margery Singer; Press Representative: Boneau / Bryan-Brown; Dance Captain: Paige Hinton; Advertising: Serino Coyne, Inc.

[See More]

Opening Night Cast

Stephen Lee AndersonReverend Shaw Moore
Dee HotyVi Moore
Jeremy Kushnier
Broadway debut
Ren McCormack
Jennifer Laura Thompson
Broadway debut
Ariel Moore
Jim Ambler
Broadway debut
Billy Angell
Broadway debut
Robin BaxterBetty Blast
Rosalind Brown
Broadway debut
Wendy Jo
Angela Brydon
Broadway debut
Catherine CampbellLulu Warnicker
Bryant Carroll
Broadway debut
Paul CastreeGarvin
Catherine CoxEthel McCormack
Kathy Deitch
Broadway debut
John DeylePrincipal Clark
Saloon Keeper
Hunter FosterBickle
Stacy FrancisRusty
Kristen Leigh Gorski
Broadway debut
Artie HarrisCowboy Bob
Billy HartungChuck Cranston
Sean HaytheEnsemble
John HillnerCoach Dunbar
Lori Holmes
Broadway debut
Daniel Karaty
Broadway debut
Adam LeFevreWes Warnicker
Katharine Leonard
Broadway debut
Donna Lee MarshallDoreen
Eleanor Dunbar
Mark Myars
Broadway debut
Tom PlotkinWillard Hewitt
JoAnna Ross
Broadway debut
Serena Soffer
Broadway debut
Nick SullivanCop
Country Fiddler
Ron Todorowski
Broadway debut

Swings: Ben Cameron, Sean Haythe, Paige Hinton, Jeanine Meyers and Orfeh

Understudies: Jim Ambler (Chuck Cranston, Ren McCormack), Susan Bigelow (Eleanor Dunbar, Ethel McCormack, Lulu Warnicker, Vi Moore), Ben Cameron (Lyle, Travis), Paul Castree (Willard Hewitt), Rick Crom (Coach Dunbar, Cop, Country Fiddler, Principal Clark, Reverend Shaw Moore, Saloon Keeper, Wes Warnicker), Hunter Foster (Chuck Cranston, Coach Dunbar, Ren McCormack), Kristen Leigh Gorski (Wendy Jo), Jamie Gustis (Lyle, Travis), Artie Harris (Willard Hewitt), Sean Haythe (Cop, Country Fiddler), John Hillner (Reverend Shaw Moore), Lori Holmes (Rusty), Katharine Leonard (Ariel Moore, Urleen), Donna Lee Marshall (Betty Blast, Irene, Vi Moore), Jeanine Meyers (Ariel Moore, Eleanor Dunbar, Ethel McCormack, Lulu Warnicker, Urleen), Orfeh (Betty Blast, Irene, Rusty, Wendy Jo) and Nick Sullivan (Principal Clark, Saloon Keeper, Wes Warnicker)

Awards and Nominations

Tony Award®

 1999 Best Book of a Musical [nominee] 

Book adapted by Dean Pitchford and Walter Bobbie

 1999 Best Original Musical Score [nominee] 

Music by Tom Snow; Lyrics by Dean Pitchford; Featuring songs by Eric Carmen, Sammy Hagar, Kenny Loggins and Jim Steinman; Additional lyrics by Kenny Loggins

 1999 Best Actress in a Musical [nominee] 

Dee Hoty

 1999 Best Choreography [nominee] 

A.C. Ciulla


music by Tom Snow; lyrics by Dean Pitchford
(Unless otherwise noted)

ACT 1 Sung By
(music by Kenny Loggins; lyrics by Dean Pitchford and Kenny Loggins )
Ren McCormack and Company
On Any SundayReverend Shaw Moore and Company
The Girl Gets Around
(music by Sammy Hagar)
Chuck Cranston, Ariel Moore, Travis and Lyle
I Can't Stand StillRen McCormack
Somebody's EyesRusty, Wendy Jo, Urleen and Company
Learning to Be SilentVi Moore and Ethel McCormack
Holding Out for a Hero
(music by Jim Steinman)
Ariel Moore, Rusty, Wendy Jo and Urleen
Somebody's Eyes (Reprise) Rusty, Wendy Jo and Urleen
Heaven Help MeReverend Shaw Moore
I'm Free
(music by Kenny Loggins)
Ren McCormack, Reverend Shaw Moore and Company
Heaven Help Me (Reprise) Ren McCormack, Reverend Shaw Moore and Company
On Any Sunday (Reprise) Ren McCormack, Reverend Shaw Moore and Company
ACT 2 Sung By
Let's Make Believe We're in LoveIrene and The Country Kickers
Let's Hear It for the BoyRusty and Company
Can You Find It in Your Heart?Vi Moore
Mama SaysWillard Hewitt and Boys
Almost Paradise
(music by Eric Carmen)
Ren McCormack and Ariel Moore
Dancing Is Not a CrimeRen McCormack and Boys
I ConfessReverend Shaw Moore
On Any Sunday (Reprise) Company
Can You Find It in Your Heart? (Reprise) Reverend Shaw Moore
Footloose (Reprise)
(music by Kenny Loggins; lyrics by Dean Pitchford and Kenny Loggins )

Replacement/Transfer Info

The following people are credited as replacements or additions if they were not credited on opening night.

Richard Rodgers Theatre

(10/22/1998 - 7/2/2000)
Assistant Stage Mgr: Gregory Victor(Mar 29, 2000 - Jun 4, 2000).

Conducted by Lon Hoyt; Management Associate: Sally Campbell Morse, Robert C. Strickstein, Staci Levine, Robert Pullen(Jan 2000 - Jul 2000), Tim Hawkins.


Darrin Baker
Coach Dunbar
Wes Warnicker
Christian Borle
Willard Hewitt
Luther Creek
Teri DiGianfelice
Sean Dooley
Jennifer Gambatese
Broadway debut
Asmeret Ghebremichael
Ensemble (Feb 14, 1999 - Aug 25, 1999)
Casey Miles Good
Jamie Gustis
Cowboy Bob
Katie Harvey
Wendy Jo
John Hillner
Reverend Shaw Moore
Curtis Holbrook
Michelle Kittrell
Bradley Jay Madison
Kathleen Marsh
Lulu Warnicker
Matthew Morrison
Mary Gordon Murray
Vi Moore
Tanya Nieves
Carolyn Ockert-Haythe
Rusty (Jun 8, 1999 - Jun 13, 1999)
Timothy Quinlan
Ensemble (May 27, 2000 - Jul 2, 2000)
Lyle (May 27, 2000 - Jul 2, 2000)
Anika Noni Rose
Broadway debut
Teresa Marie Sanchez
Michael Seelbach
Martin Vidnovic
Reverend Shaw Moore Was replaced in previews
Karl Wahl
Jason Wooten
Ren McCormack

Understudies: Meredith Akins (Wendy Jo), Robert Boles (Reverend Shaw Moore), Bryant Carroll (Willard Hewitt), Luther Creek (Willard Hewitt), Sean Dooley (Garvin, Willard Hewitt), Asmeret Ghebremichael (Rusty, Urleen, Wendy Jo), Casey Miles Good (Chuck Cranston), Sean Haythe (Coach Dunbar), Lori Holmes (Eleanor Dunbar), Michelle Kittrell (Ariel Moore, Rusty), Donna Lee Marshall (Ethel McCormack), Matthew Morrison (Chuck Cranston), Ipsita Paul (Wendy Jo), Timothy Quinlan (Chuck Cranston, Ren McCormack, Willard Hewitt), Teresa Marie Sanchez (Ariel Moore, Rusty, Urleen), Michael Seelbach (Ren McCormack), Jason Wooten (Ren McCormack).

View full site