Marquis Theatre, (4/24/2008 - 6/22/2008)

First Preview: Mar 15, 2008
Opening Date: Apr 24, 2008
Closing Date: Jun 22, 2008
Total Previews: 45
Total Performances: 68

Category: Musical, Comedy, Original, Broadway
Setting: Baltimore in 1954

Opening Night Production Staff

Theatre Owned / Operated by The Nederlander Organization (James M. Nederlander: Chairman; James L. Nederlander: President)

Produced by Adam Epstein, Allan S. Gordon, Élan V. McAllister, Brian Grazer, James P. MacGilvray, Universal Pictures, Anne Caruso, Adam S. Gordon, Latitude Link and Pelican Group; Produced in association with Philip Morgaman and Andrew Farber/Richard Mishaan

World Premiere produced by La Jolla Playhouse (Christopher Ashley, Artistic Director; Steven B. Libman, Managing Director)

Book by Mark O'Donnell and Thomas Meehan; Music by David Javerbaum and Adam Schlesinger; Lyrics by David Javerbaum and Adam Schlesinger; Based on the Universal Pictures film written and directed by: John Waters; Musical Director: Lynne Shankel; Incidental music by Lynne Shankel; Music arranged by Lynne Shankel; Music orchestrated by Christopher Jahnke; Dance Music Arranged by: David Chase; Music Producer: Steven M. Gold

Directed by Mark Brokaw; Choreographed by Rob Ashford; Associate Director: Moritz von Stuelpnagel; Associate Choreographer: Joey Pizzi

Scenic Design by Scott Pask; Costume Design by Catherine Zuber; Lighting Design by Howell Binkley; Sound Design by Peter Hylenski; Hair Design by Tom Watson; Make-Up Design by Randy Houston Mercer

General Manager: Alan Wasser and Allan Williams; Company Manager: Laura Kirspel; Associate Co. Mgr: Christopher D'Angelo

Production Stage Manager: Rolt Smith; Stage Manager: Andrea O. Saraffian; Production Manager: Juniper Street Productions

Conducted by Lynne Shankel; Associate Conductor: Henry Aronson; Keyboard 1: Lynne Shankel; Keyboard 2/Accordion: Henry Aronson; Guitar 1 (Electric/Acoustic/Harmonica/Banjo/Lap steel guitar): John Benthal; Guitar 2 (Electric/Acoustic/Ukelele/Mandolin): Chris Biesterfeldt; Violin 1/Mandolin: Cenovia Cummins; Violin 2/Mandolin: Maxim Moston; Violin/Viola: Orlando Wells; Cello: Sarah Seiver; Acoustic & electric bass: Steve Count; Drums/Percussion: Frank Pagano; Reed 1 (Tenor sax/Clarinet/Flute/Piccolo): Scott Kreitzer; Reed 2 (Alto sax/Clarinet/Bass Clarinet/Flute): Clifford Lyons; Reed 3 (Baritone sax/Bass Clarinet/Clarinet/Flute/ Bassoon): Roger Rosenberg; Trumpet/Flugelhorn: Brian O'Flaherty; Trombone/Bass Trombone/Tuba: Dan Levine; Percussion/Latin/Mallets/Toys/Timpani: Joe Mowatt; Musical Coordinator: John Miller; Music Copying: Kaye-Houston Music

Creative Consultant: John Waters; Fight direction by Rick Sordelet; Casting: Telsey + Company; Advertising: Serino Coyne, Inc.; General Press Representative: Richard Kornberg and Don Summa; Marketing: HHC Marketing; Dance Captain: Spencer Liff; Fight Captain: Brendan King

[See More]

Opening Night Cast

Harriet HarrisMrs. Vernon-Williams
James SnyderWade "Cry-Baby" Walker
Chester Gregory IIDupree
Christopher J. HankeBaldwin
Carly JibsonPepper Walker
Alli MauzeyLenora
Tory Ross
Replaced Courtney Balan during previews
Elizabeth StanleyAllison
Cameron AdamsEnsemble
Ashley AmberEnsemble
Nick BlaemireEnsemble
Michael BuchananEnsemble
Radio DJ
Eric L. ChristianEnsemble
Colin CunliffeEnsemble
Stacey Todd HoltEnsemble
Father Officer O'Brien
Laura JordanEnsemble
Lacey KohlWanda
Marty LawsonEnsemble
Spencer LiffEnsemble
Mayumi MiguelEnsemble
Richard PoeJudge Stone
Eric SciottoEnsemble
Ryan Silverman
Replaced Andrew C. Call during previews
Skippy Wagstaff
Peter Matthew SmithEnsemble
Allison SprattEnsemble
Charlie SuttonEnsemble

Swings: Lisa Gajda, Michael D. Jablonski, Brendan King and Courtney Laine Mazza

Understudies: Cameron Adams (Allison), Ashley Amber (Wanda), Michael Buchanan (Dupree), Eric L. Christian (Dupree), Colin Cunliffe (Baldwin), Lisa Gajda (Mona, Pepper Walker), Stacey Todd Holt (Judge Stone), Laura Jordan (Mrs. Vernon-Williams), Courtney Laine Mazza (Lenora, Wanda), Tory Ross (Mrs. Vernon-Williams, Pepper Walker), Eric Sciotto (Wade "Cry-Baby" Walker), Ryan Silverman (Wade "Cry-Baby" Walker), Peter Matthew Smith (Baldwin, Judge Stone) and Allison Spratt (Allison, Lenora)

Awards and Nominations

Tony Award®

 2008 Best Musical [nominee] 

Produced by Adam Epstein, Allan S. Gordon, Élan V. McAllister, Brian Grazer, James P. MacGilvray, Universal Pictures, Anne Caruso, Adam S. Gordon, Latitude Link and Pelican Group; Produced in association with Philip Morgaman and Andrew Farber/Richard Mishaan

 2008 Best Book of a Musical [nominee] 

Book by Mark O'Donnell and Thomas Meehan

 2008 Best Original Score Written for the Theatre [nominee] 

Music by David Javerbaum and Adam Schlesinger; Lyrics by Adam Schlesinger and David Javerbaum

 2008 Best Choreography [nominee] 

Rob Ashford

Drama Desk Award

winner 2008 Outstanding Choreography [winner] 

Rob Ashford

Theatre World

winner 2008 Award [recipient] 

Alli Mauzey


music by Adam Schlesinger; lyrics by David Javerbaum

ACT 1 Sung By
The Anti-Polio PicnicMrs. Vernon-Williams, Allison, Baldwin and Ensemble
Watch Your AssPepper Walker, Wanda, Mona, Dupree, Wade "Cry-Baby" Walker and Ensemble
I'm InfectedAllison, Wade "Cry-Baby" Walker and Ensemble
Squeaky CleanBaldwin and The Whiffles
Nobody Gets MeWade "Cry-Baby" Walker, Pepper Walker, Wanda, Mona and Ensemble
Nobody Gets Me (Reprise) Allison
Jukebox JamboreeDupree
A Whole Lot WorsePepper Walker, Wanda and Mona
Screw LooseLenora
Baby Baby Baby Baby Baby (Baby Baby)Wade "Cry-Baby" Walker, Allison and Ensemble
Girl, Can I Kiss You...?Wade "Cry-Baby" Walker, Allison and Ensemble
I'm Infected (Reprise) Allison and Wade "Cry-Baby" Walker
You Can't Beat the SystemFull Company
ACT 2 Sung By
Misery, Agony, Helplessness, Hopelessness, Heartache and WoeAllison, Wade "Cry-Baby" Walker, Dupree, Pepper Walker, Wanda, Mona, Mrs. Vernon-Williams and Ensemble
All in My HeadBaldwin, Lenora and Ensemble
Jailyard JubileeDupree and Ensemble
A Little UpsetWade "Cry-Baby" Walker, Dupree, Allison and Ensemble
I Did Something Wrong...OnceMrs. Vernon-Williams
Thanks for the Nifty Country!Baldwin and The Whiffles
This Amazing OfferBaldwin and The Whiffles
Do That AgainWade "Cry-Baby" Walker and Allison
Nothing Bad's Ever Gonna Happen AgainFull Company

Replacement/Transfer Info

The following people are credited as replacements or additions if they were not credited on opening night.

Marquis Theatre

(4/24/2008 - 6/22/2008)
Trumpet/Flugelhorn: Barry Danielian.


Courtney Balan
Injured during previews
Mona Was replaced in previews
Andrew C. Call
Ensemble Was replaced in previews
Sara Sheperd

Understudies: Andrew C. Call (Dupree, Wade "Cry-Baby" Walker), Sara Sheperd (Mona).

View full site