Lunt-Fontanne Theatre, (1/10/2008 - 8/30/2009)

First Preview: Nov 03, 2007
Opening Date: Jan 10, 2008
Closing Date: Aug 30, 2009
Total Previews: 50
Total Performances: 685

Category: Musical, Fantasy, Original, Broadway

Opening Night Production Staff

Theatre Owned / Operated by The Nederlander Organization (James M. Nederlander: Chairman; James L. Nederlander: President)

Produced by Disney Theatrical Productions (under the direction of Thomas Schumacher); Associate Producer: Todd Lacy

Book by Doug Wright; Music by Alan Menken; Lyrics by Howard Ashman and Glenn Slater; Based on the story by Hans Christian Andersen; Based on the Disney film produced by Howard Ashman and John Musker; Based on the Disney film written & directed by John Musker and Ron Clements; Dance arrangements by David Chase; Music orchestrated by Danny Troob; Musical Director: Michael Kosarin; Incidental music by Michael Kosarin; Vocal arrangements by Michael Kosarin; Associate Musical Dir.: Greg Anthony; Additional Orchestrations by Larry Hochman and Michael Starobin

Directed by Francesca Zambello; Choreographed by Stephen Mear; Aerial Designer: Pichón Baldinu; Associate Director: Brian Hill; Associate Choreographer: Tara Young; Associate Aerial Designer: Angela Phillips

Scenic Design by George Tsypin; Costume Design by Tatiana Noginova; Lighting Design by Natasha Katz; Make-Up Design by Angelina Avallone; Hair Design by David Brian Brown; Sound Design by John Shivers; Projection & Video Design: Sven Ortel; Associate Scenic Design: Peter Eastman; Associate Costume Design: Tracy Christensen; Associate Lighting Design: Yael Lubetzky; Automated Lighting Programmer: Aland Henderson; Associate Sound Design: David Patridge; Associate Hair Design: Jonathan Carter

General Manager: Disney Theatrical Productions; Company Manager: Randy Meyer

Technical Director: David Benken; Production Supervisor: Clifford Schwartz; Production Stage Manager: Clifford Schwartz; Stage Manager: Theresa Bailey

Conducted by Michael Kosarin; Associate Conductor: Greg Anthony; Violin 1/Concertmaster: Suzanne Ornstein; Violin: Mineko Yajima; Cello 1: Roger Shell; Cello 2: Deborah Assael-Migliore; Trumpet 1, Flugelhorn, Piccolo Trumpet: Nicholas Marchione; Trumpet 2, Flugelhorn: Frank Greene; Trombone: Gary Grimaldi; Bass Trombone, Tuba: Jeff Caswell; Reed 1 (Flute, Piccolo, Clarinet): Steven Kenyon; Reed 2 (Oboe, English horn, Clarinet): David Young; Reed 3 (Saxophone, Flute, Clarinet, Bass clarinet): Marc Phaneuf; French Horn: Zohar Schondorf; Keyboard 1: Aron Accurso; Keyboard 2: Greg Anthony; Keyboard 3: Andrew Grobengieser; Bass Richard Sarpola; Drums: John Redsecker; Percussion: Joe Passaro; Electronic Music Design: Andrew Barrett; Musical Coordinator: Michael Keller; Music Preparation: Anixter Rice Music Service

Magic/Illusion Designer: Joe Eddie Fairchild

Casting: Tara Rubin Casting; Press Representative: Boneau / Bryan-Brown; Advertising: Serino Coyne, Inc.; Fight direction by Rick Sordelet; Dance Captain: Joanne Manning; Fight Captain: James Brown III; Dialogue & Vocal Coach: Deborah Hecht; Photographer: Joan Marcus

[See More]

Opening Night Cast

Sierra Boggess
Broadway Debut
(Nov 03, 2007 - May 31, 2009)
Derrick BaskinJetsam
Trevor BraunFlounder
Tituss BurgessSebastian
(Nov 03, 2007 - Dec 07, 2008)
Brian D'AddarioFlounder
Jonathan FreemanGrimsby
Cody HanfordFlounder
Eddie KorbichScuttle
Norm LewisKing Triton
Tyler MaynardFlotsam
Sean PalmerPrince Eric
(Nov 03, 2007 - Jun 07, 2009)
Sherie Rene ScottUrsula
(Nov 03, 2007 - Jan 25, 2009)
J.J. SingletonFlounder
Adrian BaileyEnsemble
Cathryn BasileEnsemble
Heidi BlickenstaffCarlotta
Robert CreightonGull
Cicily DanielsEnsemble
John Treacy EganChef Louis
Tim FederleGull
Merwin FoardPilot
Ben HartleyEnsemble
Michelle LookadooEnsemble
Alan Mingo Jr.Ensemble
Zakiya Young MizenEnsemble
Arbender J. RobinsonGull
Bahiyah Sayyed GainesEnsemble
Bret ShufordEnsemble
Chelsea Morgan StockEnsemble
Kay TrinidadEnsemble
Daniel J. WattsEnsemble

Swings: James Brown III, Meredith Inglesby, Joanne Manning, Betsy Morgan, Jason Snow and Price Waldman

Understudies: Adrian Bailey (King Triton), Derrick Baskin (Sebastian), Heidi Blickenstaff (Ursula), Robert Creighton (Scuttle), Cicily Daniels (Ursula), Tim Federle (Jetsam, Scuttle), Merwin Foard (Grimsby, King Triton), Alan Mingo Jr. (Sebastian), Betsy Morgan (Ariel), Arbender J. Robinson (Prince Eric), Bret Shuford (Flotsam, Prince Eric), Jason Snow (Flotsam), Chelsea Morgan Stock (Ariel) and Price Waldman (Flotsam, Grimsby, Jetsam)

Awards and Nominations

Tony Award®

 2008 Best Original Score Written for the Theatre [nominee] 

Music by Alan Menken; Lyrics by Howard Ashman and Glenn Slater

 2008 Best Lighting Design of a Musical [nominee] 

Natasha Katz

Drama Desk Award

 2008 Outstanding Actress in a Musical [nominee] 

Sierra Boggess

 2008 Outstanding Lighting Design [nominee] 

Natasha Katz

 2008 Outstanding Set Design of a Musical [nominee] 

George Tsypin


music by Alan Menken; lyrics by Glenn Slater
(Unless otherwise noted)

ACT 1 Sung By
Fathoms Below
(lyrics by Howard Ashman and Glenn Slater)
Sailors, Pilot, Prince Eric and Grimsby
Daughters of Triton
(lyrics by Howard Ashman)
The World AboveAriel
Human StuffScuttle and Gulls
I Want the Good Times BackUrsula, Flotsam and Jetsam
Part of Your World
(lyrics by Howard Ashman)
Storm at Sea
Part of Your World (Reprise)
(lyrics by Howard Ashman)
She's in LoveMersisters and Flounder
Her VoicePrince Eric
The World Above (Reprise) King Triton
Under the Sea
(lyrics by Howard Ashman)
Sebastian and Sea Creatures
Sweet ChildFlotsam and Jetsam
Poor Unfortunate Souls
(lyrics by Howard Ashman)
ACT 2 Sung By
PositoovityScuttle and Gulls
Beyond My Wildest DreamsAriel, Carlotta and Maids
Les Poissons
(lyrics by Howard Ashman)
Chef Louis
Les Poissons (Reprise)
(lyrics by Howard Ashman)
Chef Louis and Chefs
One Step CloserPrince Eric
I Want the Good Times Back (Reprise) Ursula
Kiss the Girl
(lyrics by Howard Ashman)
Sebastian and Animals
Sweet Child (Reprise) Flotsam and Jetsam
If OnlyAriel, Prince Eric, Sebastian and King Triton
Her Voice (Reprise) Ursula
The ContestGrimsby and Princesses
Poor Unfortunate Souls (Reprise)
(lyrics by Howard Ashman)
If Only (Reprise) King Triton
Finale Ultimo
(lyrics by Howard Ashman and Glenn Slater)
Ariel, Prince Eric and Company

Replacement/Transfer Info

The following people are credited as replacements or additions if they were not credited on opening night.

Lunt-Fontanne Theatre

(1/10/2008 - 8/30/2009)
Company Manager: Eduardo Castro.

Assistant Stage Mgr: Robert M. Armitage(Sep 2, 2008 - ?), Alexis Shorter; Production Manager: Jane Abramson.

Dance Captain: Jason Snow; Senior Publicist: Dennis Crowley.


Joe Abraham
Heidi Blickenstaff
Ursula (Jan 27, 2009 - Apr 6, 2009)
Enrique Brown
Megan Campanile
Robert Creighton
Chef Louis
Major Curda
Flounder Alternate
Rogelio Douglas, Jr.
Sebastian (Dec 9, 2008 - ?)
Rhett G. George
Amy Hall
Meredith Inglesby
Tyrone A. Jackson
Alan Mingo Jr.
Filled in for Tituss Burgess while he was out with an injury.
Sebastian (Aug 5, 2008 - Oct 26, 2008)
J. C. Montgomery
Sean Palmer
Prince Eric (Sep 1, 2009 - ?)
Faith Prince
Ursula (Apr 7, 2009 - Aug 30, 2009)
Drew Seeley
Prince Eric (Jun 9, 2009 - Aug 30, 2009)
Jimmy Smagula
Chef Louis
Chelsea Morgan Stock
Ariel (Jun 2, 2009 - ?)
Eric LaJuan Summers
Ephraim M. Sykes

Understudies: Joe Abraham (Chef Louis, Scuttle), Megan Campanile (Ariel), J. Austin Eyer (Jetsam, Prince Eric), Merwin Foard (Chef Louis), Rhett G. George (Sebastian), Meredith Inglesby (Ursula), Michelle Lookadoo (Ariel), J. C. Montgomery (Grimsby, King Triton), Michelle Pruiett (Ariel), Arbender J. Robinson (Sebastian), Jason Snow (Scuttle).

View full site