Circle in the Square Theatre, (3/04/1987 - 1/03/1988)

First Preview: Feb 14, 1987
Opening Date: Mar 04, 1987
Closing Date: Jan 03, 1988
Total Previews: 20
Total Performances: 350

Category: Play, Original, Broadway
Setting: A private beach on Massachusetts; North Shore. The last 2 weeks of August.

Opening Night Production Staff

Theatre Owned / Operated by Circle in the Square (under the direction of Theodore Mann and Paul Libin)

Produced by Circle in the Square (Theodore Mann: Artistic Director; Paul Libin: Producing Director)

Originally produced by Second Stage Theater (Robyn Goodman, Carole Rothman, Artistic Directors)

Written by Tina Howe; Incidental music from the album "Past Light" by William Ackerman

Directed by Carole Rothman

Scenic Design by Bob Shaw; Costume Design by Susan Hilferty; Lighting Design by Dennis Parichy; Sound Design by Gary Harris; Hair Design by Antonio Soddu

Company Manager: William Conn

Production Manager: Michael F. Ritchie; Production Stage Manager: Pamela Edington

Circle in the Square Senior Press Agent: Merle Debuskey; Circle in the Square Press Representative: William Schelble; Original Casting by Simon & Kumin Casting, Inc.; Casting: Hughes / Moss Casting; Advertising: The Golden Group and Don Josephson

Opening Night Cast

Jonas AbryWinston Took
(Feb 14, 1987 - Aug 09, 1987)
Annette BeningHolly Dancer
(Feb 14, 1987 - Aug 09, 1987)
Timothy DalyLeo Hart
(Feb 14, 1987 - Aug 09, 1987)
Jean DeBaerAriel Took
(Feb 14, 1987 - Nov 01, 1987)
Angela GoethalsMiranda Bigelow
Ronald GuttmanAndre Sor
Heather MacRaeFaith Bigelow
Rosemary MurphyM. J. Adams
(Feb 14, 1987 - Oct 11, 1987)
Addison PowellDr. Hamilton Adams

Understudies: David Cryer (Andre Sor, Dr. Hamilton Adams), Christopher Cunningham, Jr. (Winston Took), Don Fischer (Leo Hart), Monique Lawrence (Miranda Bigelow) and Susan Wands (Ariel Took, Faith Bigelow, Holly Dancer)

Awards and Nominations

Tony Award®

 1987 Best Play [nominee] 

Written by Tina Howe; Produced by Circle in the Square (Theodore Mann: Artistic Director; Paul Libin: Producing Director)

 1987 Best Featured Actress in a Play [nominee] 

Annette Bening

 1987 Best Direction of a Play [nominee] 

Carole Rothman

Drama Desk Award

 1987 Outstanding Director of a Play [nominee] 

Carole Rothman

 1987 Outstanding Lighting Design [nominee] 

Dennis Parichy

Theatre World

winner 1987 Award [recipient] 

Annette Bening

winner 1987 Award [recipient] 

Timothy Daly

Replacement/Transfer Info

The following people are credited as replacements or additions if they were not credited on opening night.

Circle in the Square Theatre

(3/4/1987 - 1/3/1988)


Joanne Camp
Broadway debut
Ariel Took (Nov 3, 1987 - Jan 3, 1988)
Marita Geraghty
Broadway debut
Holly Dancer (Oct 6, 1987 - Oct 25, 1987)
Angela Goethals
Miranda Bigelow
Jami Lynne Grenham
Miranda Bigelow
Stanja Lowe
Broadway debut
M. J. Adams (Oct 13, 1987 - ?)
Michael Maronna
Winston Took (Aug 11, 1987 - ?)
Madeleine Potter
Holly Dancer (Aug 11, 1987 - Oct 4, 1987)
Holly Dancer (Oct 27, 1987 - Jan 3, 1988)
Tim Ryan
Leo Hart (Aug 11, 1987 - ?)

Understudies: David Gale (Andre Sor, Dr. Hamilton Adams), Jami Lynne Grenham (Miranda Bigelow), Mary Gordon Murray (Ariel Took, Faith Bigelow, Holly Dancer), Elizabeth Perry (M. J. Adams), Keliher Walsh (Ariel Took, Faith Bigelow, Holly Dancer), Thom Zimerle (Leo Hart), Jimmy Ziomek (Winston Took).

View full site