Booth Theatre, (9/14/1972 - 4/21/1974)

First Preview: Sep 11, 1972
Opening Date: Sep 14, 1972
Closing Date: Apr 21, 1974
Total Previews: 3
Total Performances: 700

Category: Play, Original, Broadway
Setting: The Coach's house, somewhere in the Lackawanna Valley. The present.
Comments: "A man gets tied up to the ground / He gives the world its saddest sound, / Its saddest sound." --Paul Simon

Opening Night Production Staff

Theatre Owned / Operated by The Shubert Organization (Executive Directors: Irving Goldman, Bernard B. Jacobs, Gerald Schoenfeld)

Produced by The New York Shakespeare Festival (Joseph Papp, Producer); Associate Producer: Bernard Gersten

Written by Jason Miller

Directed by A. J. Antoon

Scenic Design by Santo Loquasto; Costume Design by Theoni V. Aldredge; Lighting Design by Ian Calderon; Assistant to Mr. Loquasto: William Mickley

NYSF General Manager: David Black; General Manager: Eugene Wolsk and Emanuel Azenberg; Company Manager: Edmonstone Thompson, Jr.

NYSF Production Manager: Andrew Mihok; NYSF Technical Director: Mervyn Haines, Jr.; Production Stage Manager: Ron Abbott; Assistant Stage Mgr: Joseph Kavanaugh

Musical Coordinator: Herbert Harris

NYSF General Press Representative: Merle Debuskey; NYSF Resident Press Representative: Robert Ullman; Press Representative: Faith Geer; NYSF Casting Director: Vincent Gugleotti Jr.; Advertising: Don Josephson and The Blaine Thompson Company; Assistant to the Producer: Gail Merrifield; Consultant to the Producer: Novella Nelson; Graphic Designer: Susan Frank and Larry Frank; Photographer: George E. Joseph

Opening Night Cast

Charles DurningGeorge Sikowski
Richard A. DysartCoach
Walter McGinnTom Daley
Michael McGuireJames Daley
Jason MillerBasketball game announcer
Recorded voice only
Paul SorvinoPhil Romano

Understudies: Joe Mascolo (Phil Romano), Ron McClarty (George Sikowski) and Bernie McInerney (James Daley, Tom Daley)

Awards and Nominations

Tony Award®

winner 1973 Best Play [winner] 

Written by Jason Miller; Produced by The New York Shakespeare Festival (Joseph Papp, Producer)

 1973 Best Actor in Play [nominee] 

Paul Sorvino

 1973 Best Scenic Design [nominee] 

Santo Loquasto

 1973 Best Lighting Design [nominee] 

Ian Calderon

winner 1973 Best Direction of a Play [winner] 

A. J. Antoon

Drama Desk Award

winner 1972 Outstanding Set Design [winner] 

Santo Loquasto

winner 1972 Outstanding Performance [winner] 

Richard A. Dysart, Paul Sorvino, Charles Durning, Walter McGinn and Michael McGuire

winner 1972 Most Promising Playwright [winner] 

Written by Jason Miller

winner 1972 Outstanding Director [winner] 

A. J. Antoon

Pulitzer Prize

winner 1973 for Drama [winner] 

Written by Jason Miller

Replacement/Transfer Info

The following people are credited as replacements or additions if they were not credited on opening night.

Booth Theatre

(9/14/1972 - 4/21/1974)
Assistant Co. Mgr: Susan Bell.


Harry Bellaver
Carmine Caridi
Phil Romano
Pat Hingle
Joseph Mascolo
Phil Romano
Peter Masterson
Tom Daley
Richard McKenzie
George Sikowski
Nicholas Pryor
James Daley
M. Emmet Walsh
George Sikowski (Oct 1973 - ?)

Understudies: Harry Bellaver (Coach), Sam J. Coppola (Phil Romano), Alfred Hinckley (Coach), Eddie Jones (George Sikowski), Edwin Owens (James Daley, Tom Daley), Leon B. Stevens (George Sikowski).

View full site