The credits for this production have not yet been completed or verified.

Imperial Theatre, (4/18/1972 - 5/21/1972)

First Preview: Apr 12, 1972
Opening Date: Apr 18, 1972
Closing Date: May 21, 1972
Total Previews: 8
Total Performances: 39

Category: Musical, Tragedy, Revival, Broadway
Setting: The Present.

Opening Night Production Staff

Produced by Roger L. Stevens and Diana Shumlin

Music by Kurt Weill; Lyrics by Maxwell Anderson; Book by Maxwell Anderson; Based on "Cry, the Beloved Country" by Alan Paton; Music arranged by Kurt Weill; Music orchestrated by Kurt Weill; Musical Director: Karen Gustafson

Directed by Gene Frankel; Choreographed by Louis Johnson

Scenic Design by Oliver Smith; Costume Design by Patricia Quinn Stuart; Lighting Design by Paul Sullivan

Production Stage Manager: Frank Hamilton; Stage Manager: Robert Keegan

Press Representative: Seymour Krawitz, Martin Shwartz and Patricia Krawitz

Opening Night Cast

Babafumi AkunyunDrummer
Ruby Greene AspinallThe Young Woman
Therman BaileySinger
Peter Bailey-BrittonEland
Marki BeyLinda
Lana CaradimasSinger
Suzanne CoganSinger
Donald ColemanSinger
Staats CotsworthThe Judge
Margaret CowieIrina
Mark DempseyForeman
Giancarlo EspositoAlex
Damon EvansMatthew Kumalo
Don FenwickArthur Jarvis
Karen FordMrs. Jarvis
Aleesaa FosterSinger
Raymond FrithSinger
Judy GibsonRose
Jack GwillimJames Jarvis
Amelia HaasSinger
Michael HarrisonDancer
Roy HausenPoliceman
The Guard
Wayne Stevenson HayesDancer
Leonard HaywardPaulus
Lee HooperAnswerer
Edna HusbandSinger
Leonard JacksonJohn Kumalo
David JayEdward Jarvis
Rosetta LeNoireGrace Kumalo
Urylee LeonardosSinger
Sid MarshallThe Young Man
Michael OiwakeDancer
Autris PaigeJohannes Pafuri
Rod PerryLeader
Rona Leslie PervilSinger
Brock PetersStephen Kumalo
Adam PetroskiStationmaster
Harold PiersonDancer
Gilbert PriceAbsalom Kumalo
Alexander ReedBurton
Garrett SaundersHlabeni
Mandingo ShakaSinger
Richard TriggsServant
Alyce Elizabeth WebbMrs. M'kize

Understudies: Mark Dempsey (Arthur Jarvis, James Jarvis), Judy Gibson (Irina, Linda), Douglas Grant (Alex), Leonard Hayward (John Kumalo), Lee Hooper (Grace Kumalo), Edna Husband (Answerer), Sid Marshall (Johannes Pafuri, Matthew Kumalo), Riley Mills (Edward Jarvis), Adam Petroski (The Judge), Harold Pierson (Absalom Kumalo), Alex Reed (Eland) and Clyde Walker (Leader, Stephen Kumalo)

Awards and Nominations

Tony Award®

 1973 Best Actor in a Musical [nominee] 

Brock Peters

 1973 Best Featured Actor in a Musical [nominee] 

Gilbert Price

Drama Desk Award

winner 1972 Outstanding Performance [winner] 

Brock Peters


music by Kurt Weill; lyrics by Maxwell Anderson

ACT 1 Sung By
The Hills of IxtapoLeader, Answerer and Singers
Thousands of MilesStephen Kumalo
Train to JohannesburgLeader and Singers
The SearchStephen Kumalo, Leader and Singers
The Little Grey HouseStephen Kumalo and Singers
Stay WellAbsalom Kumalo
Trouble ManIrina
Murder in ParkwoldSingers
Lost in the StarsStephen Kumalo and Singers
ACT 2 Sung By
The Wild JusticeLeader and Singers
O Tixo, Tixo, Help MeStephen Kumalo
Cry, the Beloved CountryLeader and Singers
Big MoleAlex
Thousands of Miles (Reprise) Singers

Replacement/Transfer Info

The following people are credited as replacements or additions if they were not credited on opening night.

Imperial Theatre

(4/18/1972 - 5/21/1972)


Ian Martin
The Judge

View full site