Uris Theatre, (3/18/1973 - 7/21/1973)
Mark Hellinger Theatre, (8/01/1973 - 12/08/1973)

First Preview: Feb 19, 1973
Opening Date: Mar 18, 1973
Closing Date: Dec 08, 1973
Total Previews: 25
Total Performances: 296

Category: Musical, Romantic Comedy, Original, Broadway
Setting: New York City

Opening Night Production Staff

Theatre Owned / Operated by Joseph Nederlander, James M. Nederlander and Gerard Oestreicher; General Manager for the Uris Theatre: Paul Vroom

Produced by Joseph Kipness, Lawrence Kasha, James M. Nederlander, George M. Steinbrenner III and Lorin E. Price

Book by Michael Bennett; Music by Cy Coleman; Lyrics by Dorothy Fields; Based on the play 'Two For The Seesaw' by William Gibson; Music orchestrated by Larry Fallon; Vocal arrangements by Don Pippin; Dance arrangements by Elman Anderson, Cy Coleman, Marvin Hamlisch and David Spangler; Dance Arrangements Supervised by Cy Coleman; Musical Director: Don Pippin

Directed by Michael Bennett; Choreographed by Michael Bennett; Co - Choreographer: Grover Dale; Associate Choreographer: Bob Avian and Tommy Tune

Scenic Design by Robin Wagner; Costume Design by Ann Roth; Lighting Design by Jules Fisher; Sound Design by Dick Maitland, Bob Ring and Lou Gonzales; Hairstyles: Ernest Adler; Projection system devised by Jules Fisher Associates

General Manager: Phil Adler; Company Manager: Max Allentuck

Production Stage Manager: Robert Borod; Stage Manager: Tony Manzi and Nicholas Russiyan

Music Preparation: John Mical; Orchestra Contractor: Felix Giglio

Media Designs and Photography: Sheppard Kerman; Production Associate: Charlotte Dicker; Press Representative: Bill Doll & Company, Inc., Dick Williams and Virginia Holden; Advertising: The Blaine Thompson Company and Mike Mones; Photographer: Bert Andrews

[See More]

Opening Night Cast

Ken HowardJerry Ryan
(Feb 19, 1973 - Jun 09, 1973)
Michele LeeGittel Mosca
(Feb 19, 1973 - Oct 27, 1973)
Giancarlo EspositoJulio Gonzales
Cecelia NorfleetSophie
LaMonté Peterson
Broadway debut
Tommy TuneDavid
John AlmbergCitizen of New York
Steve AnthonyCitizen of New York
Cathy Brewer-MooreEthel
Citizen of New York
Eileen CaseyCitizen of New York
Wayne Cilento
Broadway debut
Citizen of New York
Patti D'BeckCitizen of New York
Terry DeckCitizen of New York
Judy GibsonCitizen of New York
Felix GrecoCitizen of New York
Mitzi HamiltonCitizen of New York
Loida IglesiasCitizen of New York
Bobby JohnsonCitizen of New York
Baayork LeeCitizen of New York
Amanda McBroomCitizen of New York
Judy McCauleyNurse
Citizen of New York
Anita MorrisCitizen of New York
Gerry O'HaraCitizen of New York
Michon PeacockCitizen of New York
Frank PietriCitizen of New York
Yolanda RavenCitizen of New York
Michael ReedCitizen of New York
Orrin ReileyCitizen of New York
Don SwansonCitizen of New York
William SwiggardCitizen of New York
Tom UrichCitizen of New York
Dona D. VaughnCitizen of New York
Clyde WalkerCitizen of New York
Thomas J. WalshCitizen of New York
Chris WilzakCitizen of New York

Swings: Merel Poloway and Jerry Yoder

Standby: Patti Karr (Gittel Mosca)

Awards and Nominations

Tony Award®

 1974 Best Musical [nominee] 

Produced by Joseph Kipness, Lawrence Kasha, James M. Nederlander, George M. Steinbrenner III and Lorin E. Price

 1974 Best Book of a Musical [nominee] 

Book by Michael Bennett

 1974 Best Original Score [nominee] 

Music by Cy Coleman; Lyrics by Dorothy Fields

 1974 Best Actress in a Musical [nominee] 

Michele Lee

winner 1974 Best Featured Actor in a Musical [winner] 

Tommy Tune

winner 1974 Best Choreography [winner] 

Michael Bennett

 1974 Best Direction of a Musical [nominee] 

Michael Bennett

Drama Desk Award

winner 1973 Outstanding Performance [winner] 

Michele Lee


music by Cy Coleman; lyrics by Dorothy Fields

ACT 1 Sung By
My CityJerry Ryan and Neighborhood Girls
Nobody Does It Like MeGittel Mosca
In TuneGittel Mosca and Jerry Ryan
SpanglishJulio Gonzales, Gittel Mosca, Jerry Ryan, Sophie and Company
Welcome to Holiday Inn!Gittel Mosca
You're a Lovable LunaticJerry Ryan
He's Good for MeGittel Mosca
Ride Out the StormSparkle, Sophie and Company
ACT 2 Sung By
We've Got ItJerry Ryan
Poor Everybody ElseGittel Mosca
Chapter 54, Number 1909David, Jerry Ryan, Gittel Mosca and Dance Company
The ConcertGittel Mosca and Dance Company
It's Not Where You StartDavid and Company
I'm Way AheadGittel Mosca
Seesaw (Reprise) Gittel Mosca

Replacement/Transfer Info

The following people are credited as replacements or additions if they were not credited on opening night.

Uris Theatre

(3/18/1973 - 7/21/1973)

Book by Michael Stewart.

Sound Design by Jack Shearing.


Joshie Jo Armstead
Sophie Was replaced in previews
LaMonté Des Fontaines
John Gavin
Jerry Ryan (Jun 18, 1973 - Dec 8, 1973)
Felix Greco
Armando Gonzales
Loida Iglesias
Loida Gonzales
Baayork Lee
Baby Ballerina
John V. Lindsay
Was in the show during "My City" number only
Jerry Ryan (Mar 23, 1973 - Mar 23, 1973)
Amanda McBroom
Gerry O'Hara
Tom Urich

Standby: Nicolas Coster (Jerry Ryan).

Understudy: Judy Gibson (Julio Gonzales, Sophie).

Mark Hellinger Theatre

(8/1/1973 - 12/8/1973)

Stage Manager: Marc B. Weiss; Assistant Stage Mgr: Gregory Christopher Fauss; Stage Manager: Tony Manzi.

Assistant Conductor: Skip Redwine.

Dance Captain: Baayork Lee.


John Almberg
Citizen of New York
Richard Cooper Bayne
Citizen of New York
Chuck Beard
Citizen of New York
Pam Blair
Citizen of New York
Kenneth Carr
Citizen of New York
Richard Christopher
Citizen of New York
Marcelo Gamboa
Citizen of New York
Marilyn Hamilton
Citizen of New York
Lee Hooper
Citizen of New York
Patti Karr
Gittel Mosca (Oct 29, 1973 - Dec 8, 1973)
Debra Lyman
Citizen of New York
Judy McCauley
Citizen of New York
Barbara Monte-Britton
Citizen of New York
David Craig Moskin
Julio Gonzales
Frank H. Newell
Citizen of New York
T. Michael Reed
Citizen of New York
Jimmy Roddy
Citizen of New York
Michael Serrecchia
Citizen of New York
Keith Simmons
Citizen of New York
Allan Sobek
Citizen of New York
Scott Stevenson
Citizen of New York
Frolic Taylor
Citizen of New York

Standby: Suzanne Astor (Gittel Mosca).

Understudy: Loida Iglesias (Julio Gonzales), Frank H. Newell (David), Chris Wilzak (Sophie).

View full site