Imperial Theatre, (10/23/1972 - 3/13/1977)
Minskoff Theatre, (3/15/1977 - 6/12/1977)

First Preview: Oct 18, 1972
Opening Date: Oct 23, 1972
Closing Date: Jun 12, 1977
Total Previews: 5
Total Performances: 1944

Category: Musical, Comedy, Original, Broadway
Setting: 780 A.D. and thereabouts. The Holy Roman Empire and thereabouts.

Opening Night Production Staff

Theatre Owned / Operated by The Shubert Organization (Executive Directors: Irving Goldman, Bernard B. Jacobs, Gerald Schoenfeld)

Produced by Stuart Ostrow

Book by Roger O. Hirson; (Uncredited) Book by Bob Fosse; Music by Stephen Schwartz; Lyrics by Stephen Schwartz; Musical Director: Stanley Lebowsky; Music orchestrated by Ralph Burns; Dance arrangements by John Berkman

Directed by Bob Fosse; Choreographed by Bob Fosse

Scenic Design by Tony Walton; Costume Design by Patricia Zipprodt; Lighting Design by Jules Fisher; Sound Design by Abe Jacob; Hair Design by Ernest Adler

General Manager: Joseph Harris and Ira Bernstein

Production Stage Manager: Phil Friedman; Stage Manager: Lola Shumlin and Paul Phillips

Music published by Belwin Mills Publishing Corporation; Music Contractor: Mel Rodnon; Music Preparation Supervisor: Mathilde Pincus and Al Miller; Keyboards: Edward Strauss and Michael Alterman; Woodwinds: Daniel Trimboli, Seymour Press, Sampson Giat and John Campo; Brass: Irving Berger, Eddie Bert, Kenny Rupp, Tony Salvatori, Arthur Goldstein and Doug Norris; Strings: Marvin Morgenstern, Fred Manzella, Al Fishman, Maurice Bialkin and Ronald Lipscomb; Guitars: Don Thomas, Charles Macey and Michael Fleming; Percussion: Maurice Mark, Stanley Koor and Bernie Karl; Harp: Nancy Brennand

General Press Representative: Solters / Sabinson / Roskin Inc.; Press Representative: Cheryl Sue Dolby; Dance Captain: Kathryn Doby; Casting Consultant: Michael Shurtleff; Advertising: Ingram Ash, Jeff Ash and The Blaine Thompson Company; Atwork logo by Tony Walton

[See More]

Opening Night Cast

Eric BerryCharles
Jill ClayburghCatherine
Leland PalmerFastrada
(Oct 18, 1972 - Jan 05, 1974)
John RubinsteinPippin
Irene RyanBerthe
Ben VereenLeading Player
Roger A. BigelowDance Alternate
Candy BrownPlayer
Christopher ChadmanLewis
Cheryl ClarkDance Alternate
Kathryn DobyPlayer
Gene FooteNoble
Roger HamiltonThe Head
Field Marshall
Richard KorthazeBeggar
John MineoMusician
Jennifer Nairn-SmithPlayer
Shane NickersonTheo
Ann ReinkingPlayer
Paul SolenPeasant
Pamela SousaPlayer

Standby: Northern J. Calloway (Leading Player), Lucie Lancaster (Berthe), Will McMillan (Theo) and Walter Willison (Pippin)

Understudies: Candy Brown (Fastrada), Gene Foote (Leading Player), Roger Hamilton (Charles) and Ann Reinking (Catherine)

Awards and Nominations

Tony Award®

 1973 Best Musical [nominee] 

Produced by Stuart Ostrow

 1973 Best Book of a Musical [nominee] 

Book by Roger O. Hirson

 1973 Best Original Score [nominee] 

Music by Stephen Schwartz; Lyrics by Stephen Schwartz

winner 1973 Best Actor in a Musical [winner] 

Ben Vereen

 1973 Best Actress in a Musical [nominee] 

Leland Palmer

 1973 Best Featured Actress in a Musical [nominee] 

Irene Ryan

winner 1973 Best Scenic Design [winner] 

Tony Walton

 1973 Best Costume Design [nominee] 

Patricia Zipprodt

winner 1973 Best Lighting Design [winner] 

Jules Fisher

winner 1973 Best Choreography [winner] 

Bob Fosse

winner 1973 Best Direction of a Musical [winner] 

Bob Fosse

Drama Desk Award

winner 1973 Outstanding Choreography [winner] 

Bob Fosse

winner 1973 Outstanding Costume Design [winner] 

Patricia Zipprodt

winner 1973 Outstanding Set Design [winner] 

Tony Walton

winner 1973 Outstanding Performance [winner] 

Ben Vereen

winner 1973 Outstanding Director [winner] 

Bob Fosse

Theatre World

winner 1973 Award [recipient] 

John Rubinstein


music by Stephen Schwartz; lyrics by Stephen Schwartz

Magic to DoLeading Player and Players
Corner of the SkyPippin
Welcome HomeCharles and Pippin
War Is a ScienceCharles and Pippin
GloryLeading Player
Simple JoysLeading Player
No Time at AllBerthe and The Boys
With YouPippin and The Girls
Spread a Little SunshineFastrada
Morning GlowPippin
On the Right TrackLeading Player and Pippin
Kind of WomanCatherine and The Girls
Love SongPippin and Catherine
FinaleThe Players

Replacement/Transfer Info

The following people are credited as replacements or additions if they were not credited on opening night.

Imperial Theatre

(10/23/1972 - 3/13/1977)

Production Stage Manager: Edward Preston(Oct 1974 - Jan 1976); Stage Manager: Herman Magidson.

Press Representative: Milly Schoenbaum.


Shamus Barnes
Sandahl Bergman
Roger A. Bigelow
Betty Buckley
Catherine (Jun 11, 1973 - ?)
Northern J. Calloway
Leading Player (Feb 18, 1974 - ?)
Leading Player (May 24, 1976 - ?)
Eileen Casey
Dance Alternate
Jerry Colker
Patti D'Beck
Antonia Ellis
Fastrada (Jan 5, 1976 - ?)
Joy Franz
Catherine (Feb 10, 1976 - ?)
Vicki Frederick
Laurent Giroux
Douglas Grober
Ben Harney
Leading Player (Jan 12, 1976 - ?)
Patti Karr
Fastrada (Aug 5, 1974 - Jan 3, 1976)
Andy Keyser
Dance Alternate
Lucie Lancaster
Berthe (Apr 1973 - ?)
Berthe (Jul 1974 - ?)
Berthe (Sep 1, 1975 - ?)
Irving Lee
Leading Player (Jun 1975 - ?)
Priscilla Lopez
Fastrada (Jan 7, 1974 - Aug 3, 1974)
Larry Merritt
Ken Miller
Sally Neal
Bryan Nicholas
Jill Owens
Dance Alternate
Denise Pence
Dean Pitchford
Pippin (Dec 1, 1975 - ?)
Justin Ross
Michael Rupert
Pippin (Nov 1974 - ?)
Pippin (Dec 8, 1975 - ?)
Fay Sappington
Berthe (Aug 18, 1975 - ?)
Berthe (Dec 1975 - ?)
Dorothy Stickney
Berthe (Jun 11, 1973 - ?)
Ken Urmston
Sword Bearer
Ben Vereen
Leading Player (May 7, 1974 - ?)
Chet Walker
John Windsor
Kathrynann Wright
Samuel E. Wright
Leading Player (Dec 1974 - ?)

Standby: Danny Beard (Leading Player), David Dewlow (Theo), Joy Franz (Catherine), Dean Pitchford (Pippin), Fay Sappington (Berthe).

Understudy: Mitzi Hamilton (Fastrada), Dean Pitchford (Pippin).

Minskoff Theatre

(3/15/1977 - 6/12/1977)

View full site