St. James Theatre, (9/25/1963 - 1/11/1964)
Lunt-Fontanne Theatre, (1/13/1964 - 3/28/1964)

First Preview: Sep 24, 1963
Opening Date: Sep 25, 1963
Closing Date: Mar 28, 1964
Total Previews: 1
Total Performances: 211

Category: Play, Original, Broadway
Setting: The convent of the Augustinian Order of Eremities at Erfurt, the market place, the castle church in Wittenberg, the Fugger Palace, a hunting lodge in Italy and the Diet of Worms. 1506-1527.

Opening Night Production Staff

Produced by David Merrick; Produced by arrangement with The English Stage Company and Oscar Lewenstein; Associate Producer: Neil Hartley

Written by John Osborne; Music composed and arranged by John Addison; "De Profundis" composed by Max Walmer

Directed by Tony Richardson

Scenic Design by Jocelyn Herbert; Costume Design by Jocelyn Herbert

General Manager: Jack Schlissel; Company Manager: Eugene Wolsk

Production Stage Manager: Mitchell Erickson; Stage Manager: B. Lester; Production Supervisor: Thea Neu

Choral Director: Max Walmer

Advertising: Blaine-Thompson and Fred Golden; Production Assistant: Jocelyn Tawse; General Press Representative: Lee Solters, Harvey B. Sabinson and David Powers; Press Representative: Mitchell Erickson

Opening Night Cast

Albert FinneyMartin
Peter BullTetzel
John MoffattCajetan
Glyn OwenKnight
Frank ShelleyStaupitz
Kenneth WarrenHans
Thor ArngrimMonks, lords, peasants, etc.
Robert BurrMiltitz
Harry CarlsonMonks, lords, peasants, etc.
Stan DworkinMonks, lords, peasants, etc.
Michael EganLeo
Paul FloresSinger
Dan GogginSinger
Perry GolkinChild
Roger HamiltonMonks, lords, peasants, etc.
John HeffernanWeinand
Robert L. HultmanSinger
Joseph LambertaChild
Lorna LewisKatherine
Konrad MatthaeiMonks, lords, peasants, etc.
Martin RudyEck
Alfred SandorReader
Monks, lords, peasants, etc.
Marvin SolleySinger - Soloist
Ted ThurstonPrior
Luis Van RootenLucas

Understudies: Thor Arngrim (Miltitz), Robert Burr (Knight), Harry Carlson (Lucas, Weinand), Stan Dworkin (Eck, Hans), Roger Hamilton (Leo, Prior), John Heffernan (Martin), Barbara Lester (Katherine), Konrad Matthaei (Staupitz) and Alfred Sandor (Tetzel)

Awards and Nominations

Tony Award®

winner 1964 Best Play [winner] 

Written by John Osborne; Produced by David Merrick

 1964 Best Actor in Play [nominee] 

Albert Finney

Replacement/Transfer Info

The following people are credited as replacements or additions if they were not credited on opening night.

St. James Theatre

(9/25/1963 - 1/11/1964)


Harry Carlson
Hugh Franklin
George Mathews
Lionel Stander

Lunt-Fontanne Theatre

(1/13/1964 - 3/28/1964)


John Heffernan
Martin (Jan 23, 1964 - ?)

View full site