The credits for this production have not yet been completed or verified.

Helen Hayes Theatre, (2/16/1966 - 10/01/1966)
Plymouth Theatre, (10/03/1966 - 11/26/1966)

First Preview: Feb 15, 1966
Opening Date: Feb 16, 1966
Closing Date: Nov 26, 1966
Total Previews: 1
Total Performances: 326

Category: Play, Original, Broadway
Setting: The living quarters behind the general store of County Councillor S.B. O'Donnell in Ballybeg, Ireland

Opening Night Production Staff

Produced by David Merrick Arts Foundation; Produced by arrangement with Oscar Lewenstein and Michael White; Associate Producer: Samuel Liff

Written by Brian Friel

Directed by Hilton Edwards

Scenic Design by Lloyd Burlingame; Costume Design by Lloyd Burlingame

Company Manager: Richard Highley

Production Stage Manager: Mitchell Erickson; Stage Manager: Joseph Hill

Press Representative: Harvey B. Sabinson, Lee Solters and Jay Russell; Advertising: Blaine-Thompson and Fred Golden; Casting: Linda Otto

Opening Night Cast

Patrick BedfordGareth O'Donnell in Public
Joseph BolandMaster Boyle
Thomas ConnollyNed
Donal DonnellyGareth O'Donnell in Private
William GriffisSenator Doogan
John Cecil HolmBen Burton
Eamon KellyS. B. O'Donnell
Donald MaryeCanon Mick O'Byrne
Dermot McNamaraTom
Eamon MorrisseyJoe
Mairin D. O'SullivanMadge
Lanna SaundersKate Doogan
Mavis VilliersLizzy Sweeney
Joseph WarrenCon Sweeney

Understudies: Joseph Boland (S. B. O'Donnell), Grace Carney (Lizzy Sweeney, Madge), David Haviland (Gareth O'Donnell in Public, Joe, Ned, Tom), Joseph Hill (Ben Burton, Con Sweeney, Senator Doogan), John Cecil Holm (Canon Mick O'Byrne, Master Boyle), Lesley Hunt (Kate Doogan) and Dermot McNamara (Gareth O'Donnell in Private)

Awards and Nominations

Tony Award®

 1966 Best Play [nominee] 

Written by Brian Friel; Produced by David Merrick Arts Foundation

 1966 Best Actor in Play [nominee] 

Patrick Bedford

 1966 Best Actor in Play [nominee] 

Donal Donnelly

 1966 Best Featured Actor in a Play [nominee] 

Eamon Kelly

 1966 Best Featured Actress in a Play [nominee] 

Mairin D. O'Sullivan

 1966 Best Direction of a Play [nominee] 

Hilton Edwards

View full site