A Texas Trilogy: The Oldest Living Graduate

Three Full Length-Plays in Repertory

Broadhurst Theatre, (9/23/1976 - 10/29/1976)

First Preview: Sep 17, 1976
Opening Date: Sep 23, 1976
Closing Date: Oct 29, 1976
Total Previews: 2
Total Performances: 20

Category: Play, Original, Broadway
Setting: Summer of 1962 in Bradleyville, Texas. The den of Floyd Kinkaid's ranch-style home on the outskirts of town.

Opening Night Production Staff

Produced by Robert Whitehead and Roger L. Stevens

Originally produced by The John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts

Written by Preston Jones

Directed by Alan Schneider; Assistant Director: Joan Thorne

Scenic Design by Ben Edwards; Lighting Design by Ben Edwards; Costume Design by Jane Greenwood; Hair Design by Steve Atha

General Manager: Oscar E. Olesen; Company Manager: James Walsh

Production Stage Manager: William Dodds; Stage Manager: Charles Kindl and Stephen Nasuta

Assistant to Mr. Stevens: Jean Bankier; Assistant to the Producer: Doris Blum; Advertising: Lawrence Weiner and Associates and Norman Weiner; Speech Consultant: Robert Williams; General Press Representative: Seymour Krawitz; Press Associate: Patricia McLean Krawitz and Louise Ment

Opening Night Cast

Henderson ForsytheClarence Sickenger
Fred GwynneColonel J. C. Kinkaid
Lee RichardsonFloyd Kinkaid
Patricia RoeMaureen Kinkaid
Avril GentlesClaudine Hampton
Kristin GriffithMartha Ann Sickenger
William LeMassenaMajor Leroy W. Ketchum
Paul O'KeefeCadet Whopper Turnbull
Ralph RobertsMike Tremaine

Standby: Donald Buka (Clarence Sickenger, Floyd Kinkaid, Major Leroy W. Ketchum), Patricia Fay (Claudine Hampton, Maureen Kinkaid), Baxter Harris (Mike Tremaine), William LeMassena (Colonel J. C. Kinkaid), Stephen Nasuta (Cadet Whopper Turnbull) and Beverly Shatto (Martha Ann Sickenger)

Awards and Nominations

Drama Desk Award

 1977 Outstanding Actor in a Play [nominee] 

Fred Gwynne

 1977 Outstanding Featured Actor in a Play [nominee] 

Ralph Roberts

 1977 Outstanding Featured Actress in a Play [nominee] 

Patricia Roe

winner 1977 Outstanding Director of a Play [winner] 

Alan Schneider

winner 1977 Outstanding New Play (American) [winner] 

Produced by Robert Whitehead and Roger L. Stevens; Written by Preston Jones

View full site